Dillon’s Trip – 5/4/2011 – 56% SAVINGS!

This morning I went online to www.dillons.com and checked out their weekly sales circular. (In my area, sales are from Wednesday to Tuesday) 

I saw a few things that I thought were pretty great deals and wrote out my list and quantity of each item that I wanted to get.

After work, I ran home, grabbed my coupon binder and headed straight to the store. (I should probably just start keeping the darn binder with me at all times!)

Here is a run down of what I got:

10 bottles of Kraft Bar-B-Q sauce   (.49/ea)

12 16 ounce packages of American Beauty Pasta (.49/ea)

4 gallons of Sunny D (.89/ea)

10 boxes of Capri Sun’s (10 in each package) (1.40/ea)

3 boxes of Ritz Crackers (1.99/ea)

3 packages of Chips Ahoy Cookies (1.68/ea)

2 24 packs of Nestle bottled water (3.49/ea – $1.00 off 2 packs coupon)

4 Old Spice Body Washes (2.99/ea – but two were free with my two buy one/get one free coupons!)

4 bottles of Gillette shaving cream (1.49/ea – but I had 4 .50 off coupons that double to $1 – so I paid .49 each!)

3 boxes of Trix Cereal (2.99/ea – had 3 .55 off coupons which doubled up to a $1, making each box 1.99)

1 Parmesan Cheese (2.68/ea)

5 8 qt Kool Aid Mixers (2.00/ea – but had 5 $2 off coupons – making them FREE!)

Total Spent: $70.08

Total Saved: $82.01 (or 56%!)

I am super excited! Everything I bought today is something that my family uses, and uses with regularity. I don’t have to worry about buying Bar B Q sauce for my husbands coming home bar b q at who knows what price – I got it for .49 a bottle! The Capri Suns will be used for school lunched until the end of the year, and then for summer outtings such as picnics and when we go to the lake. I could go on and on – but the point is, I didn’t just buy stuff BECAUSE it was on sale or BECAUSE I had a coupon – I bought it because it was on what I considered a GREAT sale and/or was a GREAT price WITH my coupon.

And I know 12 pounds of Pasta may seem extreme. And maybe it is. But at .49 a package? Considering we eat spaghetti at least 4 to 5 times a month in this house, how could I pass that up? I might not have to buy pasta for the next year, but I would rather have spent .49 a package than the .99-1.19 a package that I have been paying!

Leave a Reply

